TRX1 PA Board

General discussion

TRX1 PA Board

Postby WB2MSC » 21 Nov 2012 16:17

Greetings from New Jersey after the storm

The instructions for the PA board (TRX1) say to ensure the lowest resistance for the MOSFETS biases gate to ground.

Taking TR1 as an example, do I use an ohmeter at the gate of TR1 and the ground of R2? Or just from the gate to ground? What is the best way to take this measurement? You can see that I'm not an electronics expert. Maybe I can learn something today.

73, Marc - WB2MSC
WB2MSC

Re: TRX1 PA Board

Postby OH7SV » 21 Nov 2012 18:15

Marc,

The point is that you should turn the bias trimmers to minimum voltage before powering the PA. Pse measure the resistance from gates (TR1, TR2, TR3) to GND and adjust the corresponding bias trimmers until ohm meter reading is indicating lower than few hundred ohms. You can use any GND joint for the ohm meter GND. This way you can be sure that the bias voltage is low enough during the first power ON. After this proceed according to the instructions http://www.jumaradio.com/juma-trx1/trx1 ... ments.html

73 Matti OH7SV
OH7SV

Postby WB2MSC » 21 Nov 2012 19:18

Thanks, Matti

See, I did learn something today.

Kiitos. Ystävällisin terveisin, Marc
WB2MSC

Postby WB2MSC » 22 Nov 2012 15:46

Matti,

I took the readings from the GATE-TO-Grnd of the 3 MOSFETS and come up with 700 - 800 ohms each. That seems to be the best I can do. Is that reasonable for the biases to start with?

Marc WB2MSC
WB2MSC

Postby OH7SV » 22 Nov 2012 16:26

Marc,

They should go lower. Are you sure that you are measuring from gates?
Maybe it is easier to locate the trimmers center leg. Pse measure resistance directly from trimmers center leg to GND and turn the trimmers to minimum ohms reading.

73 Matti OH7SV
OH7SV

Postby WB2MSC » 22 Nov 2012 18:15

Hey Matti